Skip to main content
Legacy Library

FAQs: OhioLINK

Frequently asked questions

What is OhioLINK?

The Ohio Library and Information Network (OhioLINK) is a consortium of over 90 Ohio college & university libraries and the State Library of Ohio. OhioLINK membership includes access to a central catalog of institutional holdings (OhioLINK Library Catalog), selected online indexes, full-text databases, reference tools, ebooks, & image collections.

OhioLINK provides user-initiated online borrowing through the OhioLINK Library Catalog. Your Marietta College ID is required for patron authentication to borrow materials through OhioLINK. Books may be borrowed for 21 days plus six 21-day renewals (as long as another user has not requested the item) and media (AV & microforms), for 7 days plus three 7-day renewals. Materials are usually received in 3-5 days. Fines of $.50/day are charged on overdue OhioLINK materials.

Journal articles must be requested through interlibrary loan. In addition, you can search more than 100 online indexed & full-text databases through the Marietta College Library. All online products can be accessed from your room or office and from home via remote patron authentication. To access the products, select Research Databases on the library home page.

The OhioLINK Library catalog is available from the library's home page or directly through the Marietta College Library Catalog. Approximately 31 million library items are available in the Central Catalog including materials from several public libraries in the state through the SearchOhio Link.

OhioLINK FAQs

1. What is Remote Authentication?

Marietta College Library provides remote patron authentication in order for students and faculty to search most Research databases from home. If you cannot connect using the name of the database from the A-Z Databases page, please let the library know. Users can also authenticate to OhioLINK provided databases by going to auth.ohiolink.edu. Users will need to select Marietta College and then enter their name and barcode from their Marietta College ID. If you cannot gain access to a Research database, please contact the library by either calling 740-376-4543 or emailing the Library

2. How do I know when my OhioLINK materials are available?

An email notice is sent to your on-campus email address to notify you that OhioLINK items are available for pickup at the circulation desk. Additionally, a patron may review items requested through OhioLINK by selecting View Your Library Record from the Services & Forms menu on the library's home page. At the prompt, a patron should type his/her name and barcode number on the Marietta College ID. The patron can select Requests (Holds) . From the list of requests (holds) outstanding, a student can see the current status of their OhioLINK request(s) as well as cancel it if it is no longer needed. Ask at the circulation desk or call 740-376-4757 if you have questions about these procedures.

3. How do I determine what IP I am using to access Library Information and Resources?

Click on the following web address and a box will appear with the IP you are using.