Ask a Librarian

Marietta College Home Marietta College Library


Library Announces Winner of Showalter Research Award

The Legacy Library is pleased to announce the winner of the 2016-17 Kenneth E. Showalter '50 Special Collections Research Award.

For this year two research projects were nominated for the Showalter Award. The winner selected by the committee was:

  • Reece Nichols. "Temperance in Marietta: The Riverside Speakeasy" — nominated by Dr. Matt Young for a HIST 202 Professional Historian project.

In his nomination, Dr. Young wrote, "Reece does a nice job using primary sources to develop the history of temperance/Prohibition in Marietta as well as develop the wider context with secondary sources. I've had several students tackle this topic, but Reece is the first to do this justice."

The other nominee for the award (with the title of the research project) was:

  • Amanda Rogers. "Holding Down the Fort: A Look into Marietta's Struggle to Remain a Union City." — nominated by Dr. Kathryn McDaniel for a project completed for HIST 402 History Capstone.

This award is presented annually to an undergraduate or graduate student who authors the best research paper using the primary sources of the Slack Research Collections of the Legacy Library. It is funded by the Kenneth E. Showalter ’50 Special Collections Memorial Endowment, established in 2010 by Robert and Shirley Showalter.

To be eligible for consideration:

  1. The submission must be a completed work in any form, for example, research paper, web site, presentation, video documentary, masters thesis, etc.
  2. It must present the original scholarly contribution of the author.
  3. It must have been completed while the author was a student, undergraduate or graduate, at Marietta College during the current academic year (or the preceding summer) and in connection with coursework at the college.
  4. It can be in any field of study, but must be based largely or entirely on sources held in the Slack Research Collections of Legacy Library.

The selection process followed a blind review standard in which information identifying the author of the papers was removed prior to consideration. The award committee this year was composed of: Dr. Janet Bland, Provost & Dean of Faculty; Dr. Douglas Anderson, Director of the Legacy Library; and Mr. Joe Straw, Reference and Instruction Librarian.