Skip to main content
Legacy Library

Community Patron Policy: Library Card

Page Header

Community Patron Policy
Library Card

Content

How to Apply for a Library Card

To apply for a community card, please ask for an application at the Library's Circulation Desk.  Valid photo identification, such as a driver's license, is required when filling out an application.

Applicants must be:

  • a resident of Ohio (Washington County, Monroe County, Morgan County, and Noble County) or West Virginia (Wood County, Pleasants County, and Wirt County)
  • 21 years of age or older.

Community Card Privileges

A community card entitles the holder to the following privileges:

  • Borrow circulating books for 28 days (one renewal of 28 days may be granted on request)
  • Borrow audiovisual materials (CDs, videos, and DVDs) for 14 days (no renewals may be granted for audiovisual material; a limit of 10 audiovisual items may be checked out at one time)
  • Receive reference services

Community borrowers do not have the privileges of interlibrary loan or requesting materials through OhioLINK.  Please consult your local public library in order to request books and articles that are not available in Marietta College Library.

Renewing a Community Card

Community cards are valid for two years and may be renewed after verification of patron information.  Please report changes of name or address to the Library's Circulation Desk.

Other Important Information

  • You must present your community card at the Library's Circulation Desk in order to check out materials.
  • The community card is for personal use only and should not be loaned to another person.
  • If your card is lost or stolen, please report it to the Library's Circulation Desk to prevent unauthorized use of the card.  The replacement fee for a library card is $5.00.
  • All materials checked to a community cardholder are subject to recall when needed by a student or faculty member of Marietta College.
  • Although fines for overdue materials are not assessed, you will be sent two overdue notices.  If an item is not returned within 17 days after the due date has passed, you will receive a bill for the replacement cost plus a processing fee of $10.00 and a billing fee of $3.00. Failure to return library materials or pay replacement bills will result in the cancellation of circulation privileges.
  • Materials in the special collections, reference, and periodical sections do not circulate but may be used within the library.