Bank of America/David and Rosalee McCullough Research Fellowship
Marietta College’s Bank of America/David and Rosalee McCullough Research Fellowship encourages the scholarly use of the nationally significant special collections archive at Legacy Library by providing support for travel, lodging, and food at Marietta, Ohio. Fellowships may be for two or four weeks. Fellows are expected to be in residence for the full term of their fellowship.
Over a two or four week period, Marietta College anticipates that fellows will conduct research in the Legacy Library’s Special Collections, present an informal public lecture on their research, meet with students once or twice in class to engage in discussion, and have dinner with the McCullough Fellowship committee early in their residency. It is possible to have a residency in which the research and student engagement portion take place at different times. The McDonough Fellowship Committee strongly encourages that the student engagement occur during a fall or spring semester.
In return, the fellow receives a $500 stipend for a 2-week residency or $1,000 stipend for a 4-week residency, as well as free accommodation in a college-owned or on-campus apartment and access to the on-campus dining facilities for the duration of the residency.
The Special Collections at Legacy Library contains rare books, manuscripts, photographs, artwork, and artifacts documenting the history and culture of the Ohio Valley. The collections located at Legacy Library are centered on the era of the New Nation and the early settlement of Ohio and the Northwest Territory but they are also rich in the history of Ohio, the Mid-Ohio Valley, and the Midwest. Applicants are encouraged to contact the Special Collections department to explore materials that might be of value in their research.
Areas of collections strength include:
More detailed information on specific collections is available at: https://library.marietta.edu/spc.
CSPAN Interview with discussion of Marietta College Legacy Library Special Collections, April 12, 2017
Bank of America/David and Rosalee McCullough Research Fellowships are made possible by a generous gift from the Bank of America made in honor of Pulitzer Prize-winning author David McCullough and his wife, Rosalee. From 2016 to 2019, Mr. McCullough made several extended visits to Marietta College’s Special Collections conducting research for his book, The Pioneers: The Heroic Story of the Settlers Who Brought the American Ideal West.