Legacy Library: PIO 101- Tej Gautam: Home

General Library Collections

These library catalogs covering the Marietta College collection and holdings from the state of Ohio allow searching for maps with some of these subject terms:

Atlases
Cartography
Early maps
Gazetteers
Historical geography-maps
Maps
Maps in literature
Topographical maps
World maps

MC LIbrary Catalog
Catalog of books, media, journals, and other materials owned by the Legacy Library.
more...less...
This is the the main access point for resources that are a part of the print and virtual collections in Legacy Library. The catalog can provide access to resources dealing with the history of Marietta and Washington County many of them dealing with buildings and architecture.

OhioLINK Library Catalog
Catalog of books and other materials held in Ohio college and university libraries.
OhioLINK Library Catalog is a combined catalog of over 7.8 million books and other library materials from many of Ohio's universities, colleges, community colleges and the State Library of Ohio. OhioLINK's design allows you to transfer a search from your local library catalog to the OhioLINK combined catalog with the touch of a button. The OhioLINK catalog provides immediate access to the library holdings of the whole system, including current availability status. Requested books and other materials are delivered to your library within a few days. Catalog entries for electronic books and journals link directly to those resources.

Call Numbers for Maps Atlases

For browsing these are call number ranges for geography and map related information:

G1-922: General Geography

G100.5-108.5: Gazetteers

G1000-3122: Atlases

G3180-9980: Maps

GA101-1776: Cartography

These ranges are located on the 2nd floor of Legacy Library in both the regular and oversize collections.The call number areas can also be browsed in the reference collection on the first floor of Legacy.

Digital Map Collections

American Geographical Society Digital Map Collection
A collection of digitized maps ranging from world maps to maps of American, cities, towns and national parks.
American Memory Map Collection
A selected group of digitized maps drawn from the rich cartographic collection of the Library of Congress.
David Rumsey Map Collection
Over 100,000 digital maps from one of the largest private map collections in the world. This site contains maps from the 16th through 21st centuries drawn from all regions of the world.
N.Y. Public Library: Map & Atlases Collection
Selected digital maps and atlases from the collection of the New York Public Library.
Persuasive Cartography: the P.J. Moore Collection
A representative collection of themed propaganda and persuasive maps from Cornell University.

Sanborn Historic Maps
Large-scale street plans of Ohio communities, produced by the Sanborn Fire Insurance company from 1867-1970.
Sanborn Historic Maps are large scale street plans produced by the Sanborn Fire Insurance company from 1867 to 1970. Sanborn Maps show the outline of each building including the location of windows and doors together with street names, street and sidewalk widths, property boundaries, building use, and house and block numbers. These maps are heavily used in both public and academic libraries by a wide range of researchers including local historians to locate and identify buildings and neighborhoods, urban historians to study the growth of towns and cities, and environmentalists concerned about impact of new developments.

Database Collections

These databases can help locate research articles, magazines, trade publications, and research reports.

Academic Search Complete
Index, abstracts, and full text for many scholarly publications covering all academic areas of study.
Academic Search Complete , designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for Amore than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. This scholarly collection offers full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields.
Electronic Journal Center (OhioLINK)
Full text of 7000+ research journals.
Electronic Journal Center (OhioLINK) includes the full text of more than 7000 online research journals covering many subject areas. Most electronic indexes available to the Ohio academic community link from article citations to the full text in the EJC.
JSTOR
Includes the complete archives of many core scholarly journals. They have been digitized, starting with the very first issues, many of which date from the 1800s. New titles and fields are being added regularly.
JSTOR is an interdisciplinary archive for the older content of selected academic journals. It contains retrospective material for more than 1,000 core scholarly journals across the social sciences, humanities, fine arts, and sciences. The journal coverage starts with volume 1 issue 1 and includes all previous titles. More recently published issues (the past three-to-five years) are generally not available as part of JSTOR.

U.S. Geological Suvey Publications Warehouse
Selected research publications from the United State Geological Survey.

Librarian

Joe Straw

Email Me

Contact:

Room 148 Legacy Library

740-376-4541

Subjects: Art, Education, English, General Resources, Geology, Grants, History, International Studies, Modern Languages, Philosophy, Physician Assistant Studies, Religion, Sports Management, Writing

Contact Us

Reference

library@marietta.edu

Circulation

Circulation@marietta.edu

InterLibrary Loan

ILL@marietta.edu

Special Collections

SpecColl@marietta.edu

For phone numbers, see About the Library

Library Hours

The library's Regular Academic Session hours are:

Monday:	7:30 A.M. - Midnight
Tuesday:	7:30 A.M. - Midnight
Wednesday:	7:30 A.M. - Midnight
Thursday:	7:30 A.M. - Midnight
Friday:	7:30 A.M. - 5:00 P.M.
Saturday:	4:00 P.M. - 7:00 P.M.
Sunday:	2:00 P.M. - Midnight

For Special Collections hours, specific days and holidays check the Library Calendar.

Citation Managers

Citation Management Tools
Free tools to assist you in the creation and management of citations in MLA style, APA style, and other formats.

InterLibrary Loan Requests

Please search Full Text Finder to make sure Marietta College does not already provide access to the journal title you are looking for.

If you are sure that the journal or book is not available to Marietta College, please fill out the following form.

ILL form