American National Biography is a long standing resource for retrospective biography. This resources contains about 20,000 entries with over 20 million words. The entries provide essay length biographical essays with bibliographies.
Biographical information on approximately half a million people, from antiquity to the present.
Biography Reference Bank provides biographical information on approximately half a million people, from antiquity to the present, along with thousands of images. BRB offers substantive narrative profiles, each about 2,000 words long, from H.W. Wilson publications and other respected publishers. Full-text articles, abstracts, and images gleaned from thousands of magazines and journals cover new names and expand on existing profiles. Book review excerpts and full text reviews help users find and select print biographies. The biographies are searchable by name, profession, title, place of origin, gender, race/ethnicity, titles of works, date of birth, date of death, keyword, and presence of images. Daily updates provide up-to-the-minute coverage of newsmakers.
Perhaps the largest most comprehensive reference source for anyone interested in the lives of people from the British Isles. The Oxford Dictionary of National Biography, or the ONB, provides full, accurate, and concise entries on noteworthy people from all walks of life. This resource covers retrospective biography with articles confined to people who died before December 31, 2000. No living person is included in the ONB.
The MC Library Catalog is the resource that can be used to find books and other artifacts in the Legacy Library collection. Material can be searched by author, title, subject, and keywords. The catalog will provide access to material in all formats in the library.
OhioLINK Library Catalog is a combined catalog of over 7.8 million books and other library materials from many of Ohio's universities, colleges, community colleges and the State Library of Ohio. OhioLINK's design allows you to transfer a search from your local library catalog to the OhioLINK combined catalog with the touch of a button. The OhioLINK catalog provides immediate access to the library holdings of the whole system, including current availability status. Requested books and other materials are delivered to your library within a few days. Catalog entries for electronic books and journals link directly to those resources.
Index, abstracts, and full text for many scholarly publications covering all academic areas of study.
Academic Search Complete , designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for Amore than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. This scholarly collection offers full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields.
Index and abstracts of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
America: History and Life is the index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present, this database is an important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history. The database also includes citations and links to book and media reviews. Strong English-language journal coverage is balanced by an international perspective on topics and events, including abstracts in English of articles published in more than 40 languages.
Electronic Journal Center (OhioLINK) includes the full text of more than 7000 online research journals covering many subject areas. Most electronic indexes available to the Ohio academic community link from article citations to the full text in the EJC.
Index and abstracts to articles covering world history from 1450 to present (excluding U.S. and Canada).
Historical Abstracts covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more - essential for libraries supporting upper-division and graduate research. This authoritative database provides indexing of more than 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955. History and social science researchers have used Historical Abstracts to discover significant and groundbreaking work for more than 50 years.
Includes the complete archives of many core scholarly journals. They have been digitized, starting with the very first issues, many of which date from the 1800s. New titles and fields are being added regularly.
JSTOR is an interdisciplinary archive for the older content of selected academic journals. It contains retrospective material for more than 1,000 core scholarly journals across the social sciences, humanities, fine arts, and sciences. The journal coverage starts with volume 1 issue 1 and includes all previous titles. More recently published issues (the past three-to-five years) are generally not available as part of JSTOR.
Index to books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics.
MLA International Bibliography is an index to books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. Coverage includes literature from all over the world. Folklore is represented by folk literature, music, art, rituals, and belief systems. Linguistics and language materials range from history and theory of linguistics, comparative linguistics, semantics, stylistics, and syntax to translation. Other topics include literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts (film, radio, television, theater), and history of printing and publishing. The MLA Directory of Periodicals and the Association's proprietary thesaurus used to assign descriptors to each record in the bibliography are also included.
Video library of award–winning documentaries and performances spanning the arts. Containing over 20,000 titles from more than 800 international producers.
Video library of Oscar, Emmy, and Peabody award–winning documentaries to A-list performances spanning the arts. Containing over 20,000 titles from more than 800 international producers including A&E, PBS, the BBC, National Geographic, ABC News, NBC News, CNBC, Canadian Broadcasting Corporation, MacNeil/Lehrer Productions, Open University, Bill Moyers, California Newsreel, TED, Films for the Humanities & Sciences, and more.
