Environmental Engineering Resources: Home

Environment Complete covers applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more. Environment Complete contains citations for articles from 1,200 domestic and international journals, as well as 100 monographs. The database provides full text for many of the most used journals in the discipline, and for the conference papers of the North American Association of Environmental Education.

GreenFILE offers well-researched but accessible information covering all aspects of human impact on the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles include content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done on each level to minimize negative impact. Topics covered include global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. GreenFILE is multidisciplinary by nature and draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology.

BioOne Complete is a database of more than 200 subscribed and open-access titles in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences. Provides users with access to high-quality, curated research and independent society publishers with a dynamic, community-based platform and global distribution.

Academic Search Complete , designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for Amore than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. This scholarly collection offers full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields.

AGRICOLA provides citations to journal articles, monographs, theses, patents, software, audio-visual materials, and technical reports. The records describe publications and resources encompassing all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines including plant and animal sciences, forestry, entomology, soil and water resources, agricultural economics, agricultural engineering, agricultural products, alternative farming practices, and food and nutrition. Auxiliary subjects that support NAL's Information Center activities, such as agricultural trade and marketing, rural information, and animal welfare are also included in the database.

ArticleFirst (OCLC) is an index of the items listed on table of contents pages of over 12,000 journals. This index covers articles, news stories, letters and other items on topics as diverse as business, humanities, medicine, popular culture, sciences, social sciences, and technology. For most items, the database also provides a list of libraries that hold the journal.

BIOSIS Previews (includes Biological Abstracts) collects abstracts and bibliographic references to worldwide biological and medical literature. Biological Abstracts contains references to journal items focusing on vital biological and medical research findings, pharmacological studies, and discoveries of new organisms. Approximately 5,500 international journals are monitored, representing virtually every life science discipline. BIOSIS Previews also covers international meetings, review articles, books, and monographs.

Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Science (ISI Web of Science) indexes include the published literature of the most significant conferences, symposia seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions in a wide range of disciplines.

Menu of databases provided through EBSCO Publishing.

Electronic Journal Center (OhioLINK) includes the full text of more than 7000 online research journals covering many subject areas. Most electronic indexes available to the Ohio academic community link from article citations to the full text in the EJC.

Serials A to Z Listing of journals in OhioLINK Research Databases, JSTOR, Factiva, CIOS and Marietta College Print and Electronic Holdings.

Garden, Landscape & Horticulture Index is a resource for access to articles about gardens and plants. Topics include horticulture, botany, garden and landscape design & history, ecology, plant and garden conservation, garden management, and horticultural therapy. A highlight of the database is its focus on environmentally sustainable horticultural and design practices. This index is designed for gardening enthusiasts, professionals, and students of horticulture and of garden and landscape design & history. Garden, Landscape & Horticulture Index covers general gardening serials of national, international, and regional interest, and serials devoted to specialty gardens and plant groups, most published in English.

JSTOR is an interdisciplinary archive for the older content of selected academic journals. It contains retrospective material for more than 1,000 core scholarly journals across the social sciences, humanities, fine arts, and sciences. The journal coverage starts with volume 1 issue 1 and includes all previous titles. More recently published issues (the past three-to-five years) are generally not available as part of JSTOR.

MasterFILE Premier (popular magazines) provides full text for more than 1,900 general reference, business, consumer health, general science, and multi-cultural periodicals. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for over 2,510 periodicals. The database also contains full text for reference and travel books; biographies; primary source documents; and an image collection of photos, maps, and flags.

ProceedingsFirst is an index of conference proceedings. It cites the printed proceedings of every congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop, and meeting received at The British Library Document Centre. ProceedingsFirst covers a wide range of subjects.

Science Citation Index Expanded (ISI Web of Science) provides access to current and retrospective bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references found in approximately 5,900 of the world's leading scholarly science and technical journals covering more than 150 disciplines. Subjects covered include, but are not limited to: Agriculture. Astronomy. Biochemistry. Biology. Biotechnology. Chemistry. Computer science. Dentistry. Ecology. Engineering. Environmental sciences. Geography. Geology. Materials science. Mathematics. Medicine. Neuroscience. Oncology. Pediatrics. Pharmacology. Physics. Plant sciences. Psychiatry. Psychology. Veterinary sciences. Zoology. ISI Citation Databases are multidisciplinary databases of bibliographic information gathered from thousands of scholarly journals. It is indexed so that you can search for specific articles by subject, author, journal, and/or author address. Because the information stored about each article includes the article's cited reference list (often called its bibliography), you can also search the databases for articles that cite a known author or work.

Portal to Web of Science, the renowned citation database, and other high quality, diversified scholarly information in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities.

AccessScience The new generation of AccessScience gathers and synthesizes vast amounts of information and organizes it to give you fast, easy and accurate access to authoritative articles in all major areas of science and technology. It is easier than ever to find what you are looking for and put it to use quickly. * Over 8,500 online articles from the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology 10th edition * Research Updates from the McGraw-Hill Yearbooks of Science & Technology * 110,000+ definitions from the McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms * 15,000 illustrations and graphics, and bibliographies containing more than 28,000 literature citations * Content contributed by more than 5,000 researchers, including 36 Nobel Prize winners * Biographies of more than 2,000 well-known scientists from the Hutchinson Dictionary of Scientific Biography * The latest news in science and technology from Science News and ScienCentral videos * Continuously updated, fully-searchable, media-rich content, terms, images and videos

Science Reference Center is a comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full-text science-oriented content. Science Reference Center contains full text for hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, and other sources. Topics covered include: biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife. Science Reference Center also satisfies the demand for standards-based content by providing teachers and librarians with articles correlated to state and national curriculum standards.

Digital Commons Network The Digital Commons Network brings together scholarship from hundreds of universities and colleges, providing open access to peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work. This constantly growing body of publications is curated by university librarians and their supporting institutions, and represents thousands of disciplines and subject areas—from Architecture to Zoology. The intuitive, visual interface invites exploration of the discipline-specific Commons by mousing over the color wheel.

Dissertation Abstracts (ProQuest Dissertations & Theses) contains more than 2 million entries for doctoral dissertations and master's theses. The database includes citations for materials ranging from the first U.S. dissertation, accepted in 1861, to those accepted as recently as last semester. Since 1997, new publications have been available electronically, and many publications can be ordered through the system for a fee. The database represents the work of authors from over 1,000 North American graduate schools and European universities.

Access to the Gale Virtual Reference Center, Contemporary Literary Criticism, and Something About the Author.

OAIster is a union catalog of digital resources. They provide access to the digital resources of 1,000+ providers by "harvesting" their descriptive metadata (records) using OAI-PMH (the Open Archives Initiative Protocol for Metadata Harvesting). Collections include: theses, technical reports, research papers and image collections.

Oxford English Dictionary is the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It is a guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past. It traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books. The OED covers words from across the English-speaking world, from North America to South Africa, from Australia and New Zealand to the Caribbean. It also offers the best in etymological analysis, listings of variant spellings, and shows pronunciation using the International Phonetic Alphabet. The online OED corresponds to the Second Edition (20 volumes in print).

PapersFirst is an index of papers presented at conferences. It cites the papers from every congress, conference, exposition, workshop, symposium, and meeting received at The British Library Document Supply Centre. PapersFirst covers a wide range of subjects.

Roget’s International Thesaurus of English Words and Phrases Peter Roget’s classic structure coupled with Mawson’s modernization, with 85,000 hyperlinked cross-references—thus fulfilling their goal of “each word being related to its neighbors and each part to the whole.” Additionally, over 2,900 proverbs and quotations from classic and modern authors illustrate the 1,000-plus entries.

World Book Advanced provides more than 1.3 million pages of primary source documents, books, documents, selections fully integrated with the encyclopedia content. Research and teaching tools include timelines, citation builder, and saved research. The World Book Web suite of online research tools includes encyclopedia articles, primary source collections, educator tools, student activities, pictures, audio, and video, complemented by current periodicals and related Web sites. WBW uses a powerful search engine that integrates encyclopedia articles, media, primary source documents, e-books, maps, and more in a single search. Other special features: Timeline builder; Citation builder; Classroom activities, lesson plans, and discussion guides for every grade level; and Content correlated to state and provincial standards.

WorldCat is the OCLC union catalog, containing more than 43 million records describing books and other items owned by libraries around the world. Each record contains library holdings. WorldCat covers thousands of subjects and includes records for items as far back as 1000 B.C. Materials covered in the catalog include: books, internet resources, computer data files, computer programs, films, journals, magazines, manuscripts, maps, musical scores, newspapers, slides, sound recordings, and videotapes. WorldCat does not include individual article titles or stories in journals, magazines, newspapers, or book chapters.

WorldCat Dissertations and Theses is a catalog of dissertations, theses and published material based on theses and dissertations. This catalog is created by OCLC member libraries worldwide and includes dissertations, theses, etc. in all subject areas.

EBSCO eBook Collection (formerly NetLibrary) is a library of electronic books (e-books) on many academic subjects. The collection includes thousands of titles purchased by OhioLINK, plus thousands of public-domain e-books. Users can preview an e-book online, peruse a page, read each page in depth, jump to specific chapters or pages, or use links in the Table of Content or Index to go directly to specific chapters of interest. Every word in every book is searchable. This collection operates on the library check-out model, where readers check out e-books for a specified amount of time.

Electronic Book Center (OhioLINK) contains the full texts of thousands of scholarly and reference e-books from several publishers, covering many subject areas.

Electronic Theses and Dissertations Center (OhioLINK) is a free online database of masters\' theses and doctoral dissertations from graduate students in participating Ohio colleges and universities.

OhioLINK Library Catalog is a combined catalog of over 7.8 million books and other library materials from many of Ohio's universities, colleges, community colleges and the State Library of Ohio. OhioLINK's design allows you to transfer a search from your local library catalog to the OhioLINK combined catalog with the touch of a button. The OhioLINK catalog provides immediate access to the library holdings of the whole system, including current availability status. Requested books and other materials are delivered to your library within a few days. Catalog entries for electronic books and journals link directly to those resources.

Safari Books Online provides electronic books in computer science, information technology, business, and related fields from O'Reilly, Pearson, and other IT and business publishers. Enter your Marietta College email address to gain access. You will receive an email to create an account, but that is not required to have access. Once you enter your email; you will have access for 3 days without reentering your email. Questions, please ask at the reference desk.