Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Collection Development Policy
- Special Collections are generally comprised of historically significant materials for
which preservation is paramount. Items are placed in Special Collections because their
age, rarity, research value, financial value, or fragile condition requires the
environmental controls, security, or special handling offered by the department.
- Materials are added to Special Collections through purchase or as gifts in kind.
Gifts in kind are documented with a Deed of Gift.
- Materials found in the Library's general collections that meet the selection
may be transferred into Special Collections.
- The Collection Committee will make recommendations concerning adding or withdrawing
materials from Special Collections. Final decisions will be made by the Director of the
- Selection criteria for Special Collections includes the following:
- Materials in all formats with a connection to the city of Marietta, Washington County
and the surrounding area, lands originally controlled by the Ohio Company of Associates,
and the early settlement of southeast Ohio and the Northwest Territory.
- Materials supportive of the curricular needs of the college.
- Rare Books
- The rare book collections are comprised of books and serial publications that meet
the selection criteria and that because of their age or rarity require special handling.
- Special Materials
- Special Materials include manuscripts, diaries, photographs (prints, negatives,
digital), audio and video recordings, paintings and other artwork.
- Though in the past Special Collections has become the repository of furniture and
other artifacts that do not contain informational content, such items generally should
not be added to library collections.
- Art in all formats acquired by the college for pedagogical use should become part of
the Art Department's collections. Artistic work in Special Collections should be
to local or regionally historical items, or items related to the history of the college.
- Archival Materials
- Archival materials document the history of Marietta College.
- Archival materials are acquired through purchase, gift in kind, and through transfer
to Special Collections from other units in the college. A separate institutional Records
Retention Policy will address material transfer issues.
- A limited number of smaller artifacts may be added to this collection if they help
document life at the college.
- Publications by college faculty, alumni, etc.
- Commercially published books authored by college faculty will generally be added to
library collections, unless their subject matter is unrelated to the college's
curriculum. Similar publications by alumni may also be added, although the library does
not attempt to collect these materials comprehensively.
- Materials not generally added include, self-published materials, items published by
vanity presses, items for which the college-related person is editor (e.g. book series,
serials). Exceptions can be made when the publication's subject matter meets these
collection development guidelines and its quality is evident.