Legacy Library: Ebooks: Ebook Collections

Ebooks Available to Marietta College Users

These are subscription-based collections, which requires the user to access titles on campus and/or sign in with Marietta College credentials.

Electronic Book Center (OhioLINK)
Thousands of scholarly and reference e-books covering the humanities, sciences and social sciences.
Electronic Book Center (OhioLINK) contains the full texts of thousands of scholarly and reference e-books from several publishers, covering many subject areas.
Oxford Academic
The complete texts of important scholarly books from Oxford University Press. Marietta College does not have access to all of this content online, but print titles can be requested through OhioLINK.
Oxford Scholarship Online is a cross-searchable library containing the full text of important scholarly books from Oxford University Press. Oxford Scholarship Online includes both classic and newly-published works in the humanities and social sciences. Subject collections are available in Economics & Finance, Philosophy, Political Science, and Religion. New books are added regularly. These books are also available at the OhioLINK Electronic Book Center, where they are searchable along with books from other publishers.
Safari Books Online
SELECT: Not Listed, click here on first screen. Electronic books in computer science, information technology, business, and related fields. Enter your Marietta College email address to gain access.
Safari Books Online provides electronic books in computer science, information technology, business, and related fields from O'Reilly, Pearson, and other IT and business publishers. Enter your Marietta College email address to gain access. You will receive an email to create an account, but that is not required to have access. Once you enter your email; you will have access for 3 days without reentering your email. Questions, please ask at the reference desk.
Wiley Online Library
Wiley Online Library hosts a multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. It delivers access to over 6 million articles from over 1500 journals, over 20,000 online books, and hundreds of reference works, laboratory protocols and databases.
EBSCO eBook Collection (formerly NetLibrary)
Electronic books (e-books) with an imprint earlier than 2005 on many academic subjects. This collection was formerly known as NetLibrary.
EBSCO eBook Collection (formerly NetLibrary) is a library of electronic books (e-books) on many academic subjects. The collection includes thousands of titles purchased by OhioLINK, plus thousands of public-domain e-books. Users can preview an e-book online, peruse a page, read each page in depth, jump to specific chapters or pages, or use links in the Table of Content or Index to go directly to specific chapters of interest. Every word in every book is searchable. This collection operates on the library check-out model, where readers check out e-books for a specified amount of time.

Cambridge EBA Program

This evidence-based acquisition (EBA) program gives library users immediate access to a mass of content and then allows OhioLINK to purchase access to a subset of that content in perpetuity. Cambridge Histories, Cambridge Companions, textbooks, and multi-volume reference works are not included.

DeGruyter University Press ebooks

E-book content published up through 2013 is included for access through December 31, 2023 for university presses of Columbia, Harvard, California, Stanford, Toronto, and University of Pennsylvania. Backfile content published from 2000 through 2013 plus 2022 back content will be available from Rutgers and Penn State university presses through December 31, 2023 as well.

Elsevier EBS Ebooks

E-books in subjects including earth and planetary sciences, engineering and computing, life and biological sciences, medical sciences, physical sciences, and social sciences. At the end of 12 months, titles will be selected for perpetual access based on total usage.

Up-to-date overviews of classic and current research across the Humanities, Social Sciences, Education, Psychology, Engineering, and Built Environment from Routledge and CRC Press.

MIT Press

New purchase with one-time GEER funding in 2021. Includes backlist. As of Spring 2022, MIT is publishing its e-books under a Direct to Open model(link sends e-mail) to make them open access. OhioLINK is not a contributor to this initiative.

Routledge handbook from Taylor and Francis (2023)

Springer ebooks

OhioLINK has the set of Springer e-books for current publication years. Includes sciences, humanities and social sciences.

University Press Scholarship Online

UPSO is an e-book aggregator platform from Oxford University Press, hosting content from other university press publishers. Package includes the frontlist from selected publishers for the selected publication years. (University of California Press (last content 2019), University of Chicago Press, MIT Press (last content from 2019), New York University Press, Princeton University Press, Yale University Press)

Ebooks on the Open Web

These databases contain free resources to all users. They are not subscription based and can be accessed anywhere.

Project Gutenberg

The oldest free digital library on the internet, Project Gutenberg has over 60,000 copywrite free books.

Google Books

The world's most comprehensive index of full-text books.

Internet Archive

A non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more.

HathiTrust Digital Library

A partnership of academic and research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.