Legacy Library currently subscribes to over 200 databases, but choosing and accessing databases can be overwhelming sometimes. This guide will outline what databases are and basic information on how to use them.
If you need additional assistance, stop by the Library Reference Desk, call us at 740-376-4543, or email a Reference Librarian at firstname.lastname@example.org.
A database is a collection of data, in this case usually academic journal articles or other publications, that are housed and accessed electronically. They can be general purpose or subject specific. For example: Academic Search Complete is a database that includes articles from all areas of study. Business Source Complete is a database which includes articles from business publications only.
Google and other search engines are tools which can provide useful information for research and assignments. Most instructors will require students to use sources that are considered "scholarly," "academic," and "credible." Because the articles found in databases are written by scholars and experts, they fulfill all of these qualifications. Websites found using a Google search often times do not. When searching for information, always evaluate it using the CRAAP test. Is the information current? Is it relevant? What is the authority of the author? Is it accurate? What is the purpose of the article/website? Most of the sources found using Google may not pass the CRAAP test, but articles found in databases will.
If you are working off campus, you will need to authenticate. When prompted, enter your name as it appears on your Marietta College ID, and barcode, found on the back of your Marietta College ID.