Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Legacy Library

Accessing Databases Basics: Finding Journal Articles in Academic Search Complete

This is a basic guide on how to access the library's databases.

Academic Search Complete

Academic Search Complete is a general purpose database that provides articles from a wide range of subject areas, and is part of the EBSCOhost collection of databases. All EBSCOhost databases use the same interface (if you were wondering why many of the databases look the same, it is because they are all part of the same EBSCOhost "family.")

Finding Articles 101

On the library’s main page, go to the “Find Articles” tab. Type your search terms in the search box and click Find. 

 

 

Finding Journal Articles in Academic Search Complete

If you go directly to Academic Search Complete, you have more options to limit or expand your search. In the search field, type in your search terms and click "Search." You can also choose to limit your search results to full text, scholarly journals, or by document type or language. 

 

 

 

 

To view the full text of the article, click on PDF Full Text, or Full Text Finder.

 

Full Text Finder will direct you to a list of databases that have the article.

Expanding or Narrowing Your Search

A Boolean search allows you to use keywords such as AND, OR, and NOT to produce more relevant search results.

AND- each result will contain all of the search terms. 

  • running AND exercise- this search will find articles that contain both running and exercise.

OR- each result will contain at least one search term.

  • running OR exercise- this search will find articles that contain either running or exercise.

NOT- the results will not contain the second term.

  • running NOT exercise- this search will find articles that contain running but do not contain exercise.

   

Expanding Your Search

By checking the "Apply related words" box, you can expand the results to include synonyms and other similar words. For example, a search for children's literature would also search for child, youth, young adult, adolescent, teenager, etc.

Saving Articles

If you click on the blue folder to the right of the article title, it will save the article to your own personal folder, but only during the current search session. This can be helpful because it enables you to bookmark potentially useful articles without having to interrupt your search to stop and spend time reading each individual article before moving on.