Skip to main content
Legacy Library

Resources for Genealogists: Manuscripts

Legacy Library resources for genealogical research.

Page Header

Manuscripts

Manuscripts

German Church Records

Ledgers containing records of baptisms, marriages, deaths, as well as additional church records from Washington County and neighboring counties. Churches represented in the collection include St. John's Protestant Evangelical Churches, German Methodist Episcopal Church, Highland Ridge Church, Berg Church, Zion Church, First German United Evangelical St. Paul's Church, St. Luke's Evangelical Lutheran Church, and others. In addition to the manuscript collection, these records have been translated into English and published in book form. These volumes can be found in the library catalog. 
 

Helen (Hill) Sloan Genealogical Collection

The Sloan Collection contains material of interest to genealogists. It includes research notes, family charts, bible records and cemetery readings related to many local families. (9 mss boxes)
 

Johnson-Lehman Collection

The genealogical research of Mary Jean (Johnson) Lehman is documented in this collection of papers primarily related to the Johnson and Uhl families of West Virginia. In addition to correspondence regarding genealogy, there are also original family letters and materials dating from the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. (5 mss boxes)
Dating primarily from 1788 to 1815, this collection consists of a variety of court, election, and tax records, and miscellaneous legal documents. While most items are related to Washington County, Ohio, a few are from other areas of southeastern Ohio, such as Athens, Gallipolis, and Zanesville. (4 mss boxes)

Local Government Records and Legal Documents

Dating primarily from 1788 to 1815, this collection consists of a variety of court, election, and tax records, and miscellaneous legal documents. While most items are related to Washington County, Ohio, a few are from other areas of southeastern Ohio, such as Athens, Gallipolis, and Zanesville. (4 mss boxes)

Manuscripts and Documents of the Ohio Company of Associates

The Manuscripts and Documents of the Ohio Company of Associates describe the role played by a group of Revolutionary War officers in opening the Old Northwest Territory to organized settlement. It is a collection of legal documents, business records, and correspondence related to the business of this early Ohio land company, and includes the original book of minutes of the directors, the record book of deeds, correspondence, survey plats, and field notes of the surveyors. Most of the Ohio Company papers have been digitized and are accessible online. (12 mss boxes+)
Website
Digital Archive
Finding Aid
Bibliography
Surveyors' Notes Index
 

​Marietta College Biography Files

Files of articles, notes, and ephemera related to persons notable in the history of southeastern Ohio.
 

(West) Virginia Court Records

This collection of legal papers dates from 1754 to 1789, and primarily concerns civil suits in Hampshire County, (West) Virginia. (1 mss box)
Digital Archive
Finding Aid
 
A full list of our processed collections can be found on the Collections page. 

Contact Us

Katy Scullin
Special Collections Librarian
Linda Showalter
Special Collections Associate