Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Legacy Library

Resources for Genealogists: Photographs

Legacy Library resources for genealogical research.

Page Header

Special Collections
Collections

Collections

Photographs

Harry Philip Fischer Collection

Harry Philip Fischer (1879-1949) was born in Marietta and spent his early career working in his father’s shoe store. He opened a photography studio in 1901, and made studio portraits, as well as images of local landscapes and events. The collection is particularly strong in steamboats, river scenes, floods, street scenes, local architecture, schools, businesses, and portraits. It contains about 14,000 glass plates and films of area scenes taken between 1901 and 1949. Digitized images from the collection.
 

Stephen Durward Hoag Collection

Stephen Durward Hoag (1900-1982), once owner and manager of the Hotel Lafayette in Marietta, Ohio, was an amateur photographer who documented local scenes, people, and events, in images taken between 1945 and 1980. The Hoag Collection includes over 10,000 prints and films, creating a pictorial history of mid-twentieth-century Marietta. It also contains reprints made by Hoag of photographs taken by local photographers in earlier times.
 

Marietta College Photograph Collection

This collection contains photographs representing Marietta College faculty, students, buildings, activities, and events from the 1850s to the present.

 

Contact Us

Katy Scullin
Special Collections Librarian
Linda Showalter
Special Collections Associate